Scriptwriter's Shed

The joy, the pain, and the long journey from script to screen.

Hurray for Script Readers!

15 long months later and I’m back to write my second blog post. One blog post a year is better than none at all, right?

I’ve completed the final draft of my screenplay and I’m now filling my hours ‘tweaking’ the hell out of it. I thought the definition of  ‘tweak’ was to make small adjustments. I’ve been making these small adjustments for what feels like weeks. However many times I read the script through, there is ALWAYS a way to improve it.

I’ve been reading a lot of writers’ blogs lately, and soaking up the combined wisdom of those I respect has encouraged me to analyse my script to within an inch of its life.

This is the third full-length screenplay I’ve written. The first was when I was 14. The second was last year. The former was dire, the latter, much better – receiving both positive and negative comments from BBC Writersroom.

The Writersroom rejection really hit home, but in a good way. Why? Because, when I reread my script, I agreed with every negative comment the script reader had made – AND the positive ones, of course. It became immediately clear that good script readers DO know what they’re talking about ( after all, she did say the script had been created by an intelligent mind). Things about my script that I hadn’t even noticed suddenly became blindingly obvious.

So, if you’re a new writer, don’t see negative feedback as a personal attack on you or your script; see it as a way of improving your writing and making your scripts and your characters better and stronger.

I also encourage you to read, read, read as many blogs of script readers and writers as you can cram in. The posts they so kindly take the time to write are an invaluable source of information.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

